IMDB Replacement Boards
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Thoughts on usage of the flag

2 posters

Go down

Thoughts on usage of the flag Empty Thoughts on usage of the flag

Post by JakeConhale Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:36 pm

Let me head this off by saying 1 - I'm no expert on the U.S. Flag code and 2 - I may disagree with things but will not actively attempt to dissuade someone from doing something outside arguments of "good taste".

The abundant sightings of the U.S. flag has always confused me. Symbols such as flags are supposed to have distinct meanings. The more often something is flown, the murkier the meaning becomes. To me, the American Flag has one distinct meaning - it represents the organization known as the United States of America and, as such, denotes territories, representatives, and offices relating specifically thereto. The U.S. Olympic team displays the flag because it denotes what country they represent. Military persons display the flag as they are agents of the government. A properly folded flag may denote someone killed in action, who sacrificed his or herself for the purposes of the U.S. Government. Ships display the flag because they are registered out of the U.S. Border checkpoints, federal offices, embassies, etc all display the flag because they have official functions.

Why, however, is the flag displayed in other capacities? Yes, I understand it can be flown by someone purely out of "patriotism" or perhaps relating to attitudes instilled by military or public service, that's fine. Freedom of speech after all, but I'm talking about beyond that.